Uncategorized

Favorite Quotes

i was reading Paper Towns the other day, and i came across a quote that went something like “Sometimes the quotes we like say more about us than the actual quotes.” I apologize profusely if i managed to bungle that one. But it got me thinking… WHY do i love the quotes much? what do they make me think of? are they inspiring? funny? social commentary? a combination thereof? or something entirely different? 

So, I’d thought that a few of my favorite quotes would make their way here. and I will TRY to explain why I think so much of them, no matter how they come across.

Here Goes:

“Some of the new women writers will someday start an idea that men and women should be allowed to see each other before proposing or accepting. But i suppose the new women won’t condescend in the future to accept; she will do the proposing herself. and a nice job she will make of it too!” — Mina’s Journal, Dracula.

  • Now, I’m not some sort of raging feminist, nor do I want to be. But this quote strikes my fancy in so many ways. First off, end of the 19th century if I’m thinking straight. A male writer. and a FEMALE character was writing this. there were so many restrictions to gender roles back then. and yet… yet… Mina was almost breaking all of them, setting up the story for what was to come and her part in it. It also sets the tone for what today’s world would sort of look like. and I kind of find that important, even if some people think I’m crazy for thinking that.

“You Have a Choice in this world, I believe about how to tell sad stories, and we made the funny choice.” — Hazel, TFIOS

  • Even though Hazel meant this entirely in relation to her’s and Augustus’s meeting with Van Houton, I think it relates to the novel as a whole. Think about it for a second, Okay? This is one of the most heartbreaking books I’ve read in awhile, but throughout the sadness there was sense of sarcasm that just made the novel so much funnier. It makes the ultimate sadness more bearable. And i think it makes the novel so much better.

“He died true to his character, drunk as a lord. Poor lad, I’m sorry too. one can’t help missing an old companion; even though he had the worst tricks that ever a man imagined.” — Nellie, Wuthering Heights.

  • I find this quote important because there was no love lost between Nellie and whoever died (I can’t remember. It’s been too long since I’ve read the book). Yet, she’s expressing her sentiments about how she will still miss him. It makes me wonder about how we are all connected, and how much of an affect we have with one another. Mind boggling, isn’t it?

“People tend to overestimate my character. they think that because I’m small, or a girl. or a stiff, I can’t possibly be cruel, But they’re wrong.”

  • I love this. I do. People had all of these preconceived notions about what Tris could and could not do. and in this scene, she proved everyone WRONG (as if she hadn’t already). but she knows what people think of her and she’s saying it outright, that whatever they believed about her wasn’t the right view. and she proceeded to set everyone straight. and it’s just like sometimes i want to look at people and say that line about them being wrong about me, which is probably why is resonates so strongly.

But when it really comes down to it, THERE ARE SO MANY QUOTES. i could probably never fit them all into a nice little blog post. but Here are a few. surprisingly, almost none came from my “10 books that stay with you forever” list. Then again, I’m not scouring every book that I own at midnight. But these are the ones that i pretty much have on hand because I have them memorized and have spent time thinking about them. They are freakishly great great quotes. I love them. I think they say a lot.

Yes… quotes say a lot. about the writers who wrote them. about the characters who say them. and about us, who read them. ponder them. take them to the next level and out of context.

but that is what makes them so great, I guess. and that’s why they are so quotable =)

2 thoughts on “Favorite Quotes

    1. thanks! i love these quotes and more. but it is SO HARD to articulate well what i mean to say. even in a blog where i can ramble to the point of absolute coherence. besides, quotes that mean something particularly special to me might mean something totally different to someone else.

Leave a Reply

