Uncategorized

Creature of the night

I’m traveling with my family this weekend. It’s not a new experience. Pile in the car and drive to destination of choice. Bring books and stuff to do. Sing to the music. Be the family that we are. Drive each other crazy. But mostly enjoy every minute of it. Supposedly.
Around midnight or so I found myself in the front seat conversing with my dad, with my mom and sister half conked out in the backseat. We were driving through the mountains of Kentucky and Tennessee and I’m marveling at the beauty of the world.
And as always never forgetting about how much I am a creature of the night. I don’t mean vampire or anything. But I mean I love late at night. It’s quiet. It’s good for thinking. It feels like its just me and Jesus. It’s peaceful. And even though I’m traveling these sentiments are with me.
And I’m realizing how many things I like to do late at night because it’s easier for me. I mean… Doing dishes at 2 A.M.? Who does that? I do. I don’t mind doing homework because it’s easier to concentrate. Essay writing? That too. Creative writing? Yep. Reading? Of course.
There’s something to be said for being a creature of the night. It drives my family nuts because I’m the only one who does it. It’s just one of my many quirks.
Now if you ask me to go partying my answer will be a resounding no. My late night tolerance only extends so far. And my introvertness will ensure that I won’t have a good time.
But I’m still a creature of the night. I do things and enjoy things in the early hours. I find peace and comfort in them.
I highly suggest trying it someday. The lack of sleep is totally worth it. Usually. I promise you.

Leave a Reply

