Uncategorized

Summer…

I know. I already wrote a post in which I talked about what I want to read this summer. But that list has been tacked onto, because my to “to read” list on goodreads is ever growing and goodwill on half off day has been surprisingly good to me. 

So yes, Lord of the Rings and Game of Thrones are still on the table. They have to be. I want to read them. But I’m going to need a break from all this delicious fantasy of created worlds. So… what else do I have? 

For the past month or so at least, I’ve been wading my way through S. by JJ Abrams and Doug Dorst. If you don’t know what that novel is about, you need to check it out. like now. especially if you’re a book aficionado. Beware: it takes a ton of time, or maybe that’s just me because I’ve read this while coping with college which is most def. not what I’d call ideal reading, especially for a book of this magnitude.

I’ve recently found the Uglies series.by Scott Westerfield. I’ll be the first to admit, they aren’t the greatest books in the world, but he takes on the way the world perceives beauty in such a way that it’s actually kind of beautiful. 

And then I just have my random goodwill finds, like Holes (which apparently the movie is based off of, so can’t wait) and The Giver. While I’m not always inclined to that side of thinking, I’ll take a dip and see what I pull out of it. 

Apparently The Blindside was a book based off of experiences before the movie even came out. I can’t wait to see how they compare. 

Hmmmm… that seems like a lot. It is. But my goodness, a good summer lays before me. hopefully. great books. the beach (where I can read)!!!! amazing friends. and not having to deal with school. It sounds… perfect. for me. others may not like this idea of a book induced summer. Me? I better go get started on that… 

2 thoughts on “Summer…

  1. Wonderful summer reading list, Charity! I haven’t heard of ‘S’ before and it looks quite fascinating! Makes me think a little bit of ‘Dash and Lily’s Book of Dares’ by Rachel Cohn and David Levithan. I would love to hear your thoughts on ‘S’ and on the other books. Happy reading!

    1. S. is really hard to describe. I’d suggest googling =/. and yes, I’ll try to blog as I finish.

Leave a Reply

