Uncategorized

Tyrion Lannister

Why, yes, I am going to write a whole blog post just on this character even though I am nowhere near finished with the first Game of Thrones Book. I saw a quote, and it pretty much explains why he’s my one of my favorites. 

“Well, my legs may be too small for my body but my head is too large, although I prefer to think that it is just large enough for my mind. I have a realistic grasp on my strengths and weaknesses. My mind is my weapon. My brother has his sword, King Robert has his warhammer, and I have my mind… and a mind needs books as a sword needs a whetstone, if it is to keep it’s edge”

 

So, onto the reasons why I love this quote: 

  • Tyrion is self-aware. He knows he has limitations, he knows where he belongs in his family, and he then acts accordingly. It feels like he’s the only one who’s not trying to get something from someone. 
  • He’s smart. Oh my is he smart. From early on in the book I could see that, but this quote kind of explains why. And because he’s self-aware, he notices things that others wouldn’t, and I have a feeling he might just use that to his advantage. 
  • He’s witty. This quote doesn’t exactly show that side to him off, but many times he has made me laugh I can’t wait to see what he says/does next
  • He likes books, and reads, and puts knowledge into his head, something that the rest of his family should probably  do if they want to go to war and win (but it’s not going to happen because they’re not those kind of people). 

Going in I didn’t know how I was going to react to Game of Thrones because I’m not normally a fan of the fantasy genre. But so far this series has won me over, and infinitely so for creating a character like Tyrion (Jon and Arya are up on that great pedestal too). I’m not far in yet, and I don’t know what is going to happen next, but I figured I could stop for a minute and talk about a pretty cool character. 

5 thoughts on “Tyrion Lannister

  1. I haven’t read the books, but I’ve been REALLY enjoying the TV series. Tyrion is a great character, as he is so interesting in this world. And Peter Dinklage seriously kicks butt in acting this role. The past two episodes especially, he killed it!

    1. I’ve never watched the show. I refuse to do so until I actually read the books, but he is definitely shaping up to be pretty great.

  2. Tyrion Lannister is a fantastic character, I’m not surprised he was the motivation for a blog post.

    I’m glad you are enjoying the book: the series and the television adaptation are top-notch.

    1. Thanks! I haven’t watched the show yet because I wanted to read the books first (I’m one of those people) and I prefer not to be surprised. However, as you said, the books are top notch and I can’t wait to give a beautiful goodreads review.

Leave a Reply

