Uncategorized

A Game of Thrones

“in the came of thrones you either win or die” 
— Cersei to Ned. 

The truth of these lines comes to pass as the bodies start to pile up, unwittingly at first. Soon, anyone is fair game and people. start. to. die. In other words: there’s a lot of death. I was surprisingly okay with this, plowing through one shock after another. 

Around all the death and eventually fighting I found favorites, and those that I couldn’t wait to be dead. 

Tyrion is pretty much one the best characters ever created. Apparently, people agree. He’s smart, witty and self aware. and I just wish that he was real (not his character on the show though).

Arya is probably my second favorite, because she doesn’t know how to be a girl. She’s in a society that’s telling her exactly how she has to be, and she’s reacts because she can’t be that person, or possibly doesn’t want to be. 

Joffrey is one of those characters and I can’t wait until he dies, if he ever does. He started out as a jerk and only managed to get worse (which I didn’t think was possible). 

And I really don’t care what happens to anyone else. 

*Surprisingly: for as graphic as these books can be, the deaths aren’t. You know that something happened, but details came after the death.* 

I’m not normally a fan of the fantasy genre, but this book has won me over and I can’t wait to read book 2, deaths and all. And watch the show! =) 

Leave a Reply

