Uncategorized

On being a Nerd

Over the past few year or so – at least- I’ve found the importance of being a nerd. While it may not be the most practical or wanted of things to be called in life, I’m finding it’s not half bad. 

I revisit those days in high school where I spent an overload of time reading and writing so I could ignore my peers. And I am so grateful to have made them through it alive. There was something lacking for those who wanted to be smart. There were those who were inherently smart and treated school like it was nothing. They were celebrated for it. Then there was me, who achieved to be smart. and I was ridiculed, because gosh, who wants to be smart? 

It brings me to my today world which is very very different. As I revel in my chosen major, I find myself with like minded people. We are all studying English, or a version of it, because we love it. There are plenty of days when I don’t feel like a proper English major because I’m a crappy paper writer (I don’t edit my own papers well) and the stress just kind of builds. But you know what? I enjoy other aspects of it too much to not study it. 

Sure, I’m not a potterhead or a whovian – not that I haven’t tried. I have. They’re just not my thing. But I get to get away with plenty of other things I mean…

  • I get away with compiling lists of guys from books that I found romantic, then expound upon it. 
  • I can watch John Green videos for hours and never be bored. seriously. 
  • I can set unrealistic goals for how much I’d like to read. 
  • Scrabble is never boring. I am such a fan of stretching my brain to see how far I can go. 
  • In my way, I’m allowed to find 80’s shows fantastic. 

No… I may not always be a proper nerd (if there is such a thing). Are any of these things truly “nerdy???” But I have found such freedom in being allowed, without permission find find these things amusing. My life is certainly not boring. 

But the best part has been finding like minded people, both in my major and out, that share my interests and help me live my life. and for that? I’ll be forever grateful. 

One thought on “On being a Nerd

  1. Beautiful post, Charity! Loved it! I loved what you said about people who are inherently smart and people who work hard and become smart. My own experience has been that though the inherently smart type looks spectacular initially, it doesn’t last without hardwork while the smartness and intelligence gained through hardwork lasts through life. I also loved all your favourite things-to-do. Thanks for sharing your thoughts and experiences.

Leave a Reply

