Uncategorized

S. — JJ Abrams & Doug Dorst

JJ Abrams and Doug Dorst call this their “love letter to the written word”

My dad refers to this as the “coolest book he’s never going to read”

And me? I call this 2 1/2 months that I’m never getting back. But in the best of ways. It was one of those books that took awhile to get into, I’ll admit it. Flipping between Ship of Theseus and the margin notes was hard and sometimes even a bit overwhelming on brain overload. Sometimes I just had to put it down for a few days or a week. and that’s okay. It’s one of those books that takes time to savor and enjoy. It’s one of those things that, for me, usually makes me kind of grumpy. But this time it worked and I (for the most part) enjoyed it.

I easily preferred Jen and Eric’s story in the margins to SoT. If you ask me any questions about that plot, it’s a safe bet that I won’t know anything. But Jen and Eric… they are two of the coolest characters I know. They left me with questions such as “Will they ever meet in person?” (Read the book to find out). They made me hate Moody and Ilsa even though you never physically meet them. Jen and Eric’s hatred was enough. They made me laugh as they conversed. Jen’s love for finding large words that she didn’t know and Eric’s responses to her about that was amusing. I love how as the book goes on and Jen and Eric discover more, it gets fast paced because so much is building up. Therefore, I couldn’t wait to get to the end and see what happened. SoT became more interesting as well as this went on.

Was I a fan of how some conversations were dropped off on one page only to be picked up later when I had forgotten about them? Not really. But I got over it. And the extras… now that was so nice to have those included. I love how even though the book was new to the published world it smelled exactly as an old book should. I want to know how they pulled off.

So yes… yes I liked this book. But for as much as I liked it, I was left with questions. What happens to Jen and Eric? Do they finish the work they started? Is Serin ultimately good or bad? and finally, please please please tell me Moody gets everything that he deserves. If a follow up to this book ever comes out, I will gladly spend money to buy and find out what happens.

I should also mention at this point that I took pictures. Lots of them, because Jen and Eric had a ton of serious conversations that I wanted to remember, and that struck my heart and made me think “holy crap. that’s me. totally me.” and it kind of made me love them all the more.

I can’t remember what pages these pictures come from, but here they are (and I’m sorry that they are not aligned left to right. I don’t put pictures up often) Also, all pictures are mine.  :

S 3
A conversation that really reminded me of The Fault in our Stars and being immortalized forever. Very inspiring, for me, that is.
S 2
This explains how I felt coming to college and fitting in with those of my chosen major (English)
S 1
The Irony of this stuck home as they are physically writing in a book about how we live in paperless times… Also, sense of humor =)
Leave a Reply

