Uncategorized

Not Just a Tribute – URC

I’ve been wondering for awhile if I was ever going to expand on the whole “undergraduate research conference” experience AKA whatever the heck I talked about. Because… well… I know what I talked about and holy cow it made me sounds like the English major nerd that I am. I was okay with that. More than, actually because it is rarely that I get excited and this made more more so than most things. However, for those who didn’t understand or didn’t care, it was frustrating trying to make them understand, so I eventually gave up. 

So… to make me sound like the nerd that I am let me introduce you to my topic to hopefully orient you a little. Or a lot. Hopefully it makes sense! As an FYI: my paper/URC presentation came from the Hunger Games and following research (although at this point I can’t remember the research I used so forgive for not using it). 

first off, for my original paper I talked about how the tributes in the HG were not just tributes but also objectified and turned into a sort of commodity for those in the capitol. It was a bit tricky using the word commodity because the book doesn’t explicitly give off those vibes, although Katniss does mention betting and stuff that goes on. 

So… without further ado: the three steps to becoming a commodity for the capitol. Strangely enough, they are also the steps to making you noticeable for the games. I will also be leaving out the quotes from the book I used. It’s late at night and I don’t feel like digging them out. Please bear with me. 

  1. Make a Splash at the tributes parade.  The more noticeable you are at the parade the more likely people are to pay attention are to you from there are out. 
  2. Which adds to with a high training score. High training score  tend to make tributes more appealing. Two things that can go wrong with this ideology though: tributes who go last tend to get lesser scores due to gamemakers being drunk and sometimes tributes would forgo a high score to stay under the radar.
  3. Thirdly, be appealing during the interview. But the thing with the interviews is that in order to appeal to a certain group, you won’t appeal to another. So, be something sexy or terrifying and you probably won’t get in 

After these lovely talking points, I went on to explain what happened once a tribute won, using the voices of Haymitch and Finnick with their stories of terror (and sadness). How a tribute was physically turned into a commodity and how they blackmailed into doing everything they did. 

The URC is one of things that I was not a fan of doing. Or at least not really. But I got to explore my mind a bit. See what I could come up with. It scared me a bit, knowing that I could come up with an idea as brilliant as this (which totally defeats the previous post of I’m a fraud). I also got to embrace my nerdom a bit. Revel in it, even if others didn’t appreciate it. 

Anyways, did you understand where I was coming from? what did you think of it? Let me know in the comments! 

4 thoughts on “Not Just a Tribute – URC

  1. 🙂 For one, you are brilliant and one of these days you may embrace that fact. Secondly, while you may not have enjoyed the spotlight I doubt you would have been asked to attend if other people didn’t ALSO revel in your nerd-dom and want to hear your ideas.

    The idea of whether or not being an English Major and doing the things English Majors are known to do is a good thing or a bad thing often hinges on your own perspective- you act as if it is a bad thing probably because in your mind you still want to identify with who you see as “normal people” who are snide about English Majors. Blech! Don’t do that! Identify yourself with the brilliant authors and educators you adore and realize that is where you belong. (Because, as I mentioned earlier, you are brilliant and should embrace that fact.)

    1. I think a large part of wanting to be with “normal” people and not a nerd is just the fact that the parents don’t understand. I mean… they try. but not really. so it cuts a bit deep. They ask about my day and I’ve gone from “okay. I don’t want to talk about it” (High school years) to the arguments I have in my classes. I get called a nerd frequently at work and I embrace it.

      1. Even if your parents don’t understand, you can still talk about what is going on and I’ll wager if your parents are lost and not getting a single word you say, they’ll still be happy that you are happy and enjoying your life. Parents love the kids they’ve got, I doubt they are wishing that you were anything other than you are.

  2. Thanks for sharing your experiences at the URC conference, Charity. Enjoyed reading it. I liked very much the way you looked at ‘The Hunger Games’.

Leave a Reply

