Uncategorized

Why Limit??

I’ve been thinking lately on how people limit themselves on what they read. & I personally don’t get it. There are people who prefer dystopias, only go for the classics, or avoid love triangles (and I really don’t blame those who do). 

Of course there are so many other genres that I’m not addressing, but the point come across. like I said, I just don’t get it. 

I don’t see the point in only staying within one genre. Why limit yourself? 

I mean… I love dystopias as much as the next person, but sometimes they just get old. 

You’ve heard of fantasy, right? I read that sometimes too. 

Once in awhile I need the crap scared out of me by “horror” books – classic or otherwise. 

On the rare occasion I would prefer action or adventure?

what if I want to fall in love with a contemporary character? 

or read Christian lit? 

& I know I have my days when I need to immerse myself within the glorious world with the characters of Jane Austen. 

Books for every mood that I tend to encounter. Who knew, right? =) 

Yeah, I know. these overlap to a point. You can mix and match. but I seriously don’t get why people limit themselves to certain genres. There are so many worlds to visit and explore. And I also get that some genres that are more appealing to some people more than others. That’s okay. 

I’m just trying to say that all because you prefer a certain genre doesn’t mean that you can discard the others. Give them a try. If you’re like me, you want to read. all. the books. you read whatever you can get your hands on. I don’t limit myself because I don’t see the point because who knows what I’d be missing out on. 

That’s all I’m saying. Make sense? Am I crazy yet? let me know in the comments! 

2 thoughts on “Why Limit??

  1. Loved the post, Charity! I enjoy exploring all genres – occasionally I even pick a romance / romantic-suspense novel when I go to the library 🙂 (My favourite kind of romance novel is the one which involves books and bookstores). I also don’t understand why some readers limit themselves to particular genres – there is so much to explore out there.

    1. If you ever get the chance, read the “Death on Demand” book series by Carolyn G. Hart. Bookstore owner who solves crimes with her P.I. husband or something, if I’m remembering correctly. It’s been a few years but I remember liking them. check them out on goodreads!

Leave a Reply

