Uncategorized

Remington Steele

it is time for yet again one of my “infamous” 80’s TV rants. But I’ll be forgoing the Scarecrow and Mrs. King this time. Instead I’m feeling the show Remington Steele. I’m only about 3/4 of the way of season 3, not including the 5 episodes Hulu is unfortunately missing. But holy crap… so much is going down that I want to talk about it for a bit. 

Do you know what Pierce Brosnan looked like in the 80’s? Ok. fine. He’s still decently good looking for an older guy. And I hate to admit it that I watch it for him, because I don’t. However, that accent. mmmm.  Wins me over. every time. 

Yet, a few episodes ago Steele went “my name is Steele. Remington Steele.” – in the bond style of course. Which made me laugh and think “no wonder he ended up the 90’s (and possibly early 2000’s?) era Bond. I mean… seriously? who wouldn’t imagine him as Bond after that? 

Disclaimer: I may or may not consider Steele the original Dinozzo (from NCIS) because of all the freaking movie references. 

Oh! Doris Roberts. You may or may not remember her as the um, troublesome mother from Everyone loves Raymond. I know her better as the secretary from Remington Steele. She’s such a no fuss bossypants compared to the overbearing mother. Meaning, I like her better on this show. 

As I watch season 3, it keeps getting better and better, plot wise – thickened by the fact that Remington and Laura have all this pent up sexual energy of “will they or won’t they??” I know the answer to that but waiting for it is, of course, driving me nuts. I blame the unapologetic romantic inside of me that comes out at times like this =( 

This show is lauded for how its showcasing of feminism (or something or other. I may, of course, be wrong): hence the premise of the show.  A woman (Laura) has to create a fake boss as a woman to work in a field of men. Until one day that fake boss suddenly has a real person playing him and that person doesn’t leave. 

Stephanie Zimbalist is known for her use of hats to portray her character. Style at its best, right? 

Sure, this show is cheesy 80’s TV. But like other shows similar to this it has infinitely won me over. Hilarious characters… over the top yet serious plots (do you know how many people die in some episodes???) without being infinitely gory… and yet at the same time a bit slapstick comedy (the bonus features told me that). 

I’m such a fan, even though it took me a while ,- like half the first season to get into it. But I’m so glad I did. All this being said, have you watched it? would you watch it? what show would you watch no matter how crazy people told you you were? Let me know in the comments. 

Leave a Reply

