Uncategorized

Book Loaning

“Sometimes you read a book and it fills you with this weird evangelical zeal and you become convinced that that the shattered world will never be put back together unless and until all living human beings read the book. And then there are books like An Imperial Affliction, which you can’t tell people about, books so special and rare and yours that advertising your affection feels like a betrayal.” 

This is one of the many many iconic quotes from The Fault in Our Stars by John Green. It was about time that i started showing my affection, right? But it goes so nicely with what I feel like talking about that well… gotta do it =) 

So, book loaning. I’ve never thought much of it. I read a book, I pass it on. My mom usually gets first crack depending on who wrote it and what it’s about. My sister usually gets second crack, even though our tastes in books differs. 

Then it just goes to whoever knows I have it, depending if I’m willing to loan/how much I trust a person. Usually, it works out well. 

But then this quote came along. I’ve never thought about not giving a book out for that reason. As I look out over my shelves, I see lives. I see books that have made me feel so understood on so many levels (Fangirl, for example). And I don’t see any that I wouldn’t share. I don’t think.  

I enjoy seeing people spark up as they get a book they’ve been dying to read and become excited. Even better is when I tell them to feel free to underline/write in my books. I do it, so why can’t they? 

The quote is true. don’t get me wrong. Books are meant to be shared. Or at least I think so. But sometimes, they are that special brand of not share able. And that’s okay, and everyone is different.

Which makes me wonder… what are your thoughts on book loaning? what’s your favorite book to give out? are there any that you wouldn’t loan, no matter what? let me know in the comments!  

2 thoughts on “Book Loaning

  1. Beautiful post, Charity! I loved the quote too! In my family no one reads the kind of books I do – so I am really jealous that you can share your books with your mom and your sister and have a discussion with them later. I like lending books, but only to friends who return them 🙂 There are books that I would never lend – I would recommend them, but wouldn’t lend my copy. For example, I would never lend Anne Fadiman’s ‘Ex Libris’, Marlen Haushofer’s ‘The Wall’ and the ‘Berlin’ graphic novel series by Jason Lutes. They are my alltime favourite books and though I often recommend them, I never lend them.

    1. I book loan like no body’s business. it’s like “here’s a book. and more books. oh yeah. feel free to write in them.” I honestly don’t have any that I wouldn’t be willing to loan (although I’m iffy with my John Green).

      I’m blessed because I learned to love reading from my mom. She always had us at the library when my sister and I were younger. Always reading. That love has just grown a bit since them, which makes me happy =)

Leave a Reply

