Uncategorized

Goodbye Summer, Voice, and Laptop

Tonight is my last official night of summer vacation, because starting tomorrow bright and early at 10 A.M. my days full of classes start. I’m really looking forward to it, minus the whole no voice thing, which I’ll get to in a moment.

My summer didn’t exactly go as planned. I spend time on Netflix and reading and at work. Nothing much else happened. I didn’t go to the beach, or read there anyways. I most deff. didn’t read what I had planned. And I became a total hermit who forgot she had friends.

But what I did read? let me see… the first two books of the Uglies series by Scott Westerfield. I was not a fan and probably won’t be finishing the series off unless someone can convince me of it.

There was S. by JJ Abrams and Doug Dorst. I actually finished that baby, or honker of a book. Not to mention really enjoyed it.

The Summer of Letting Go… well my long review of that book probably tell you how much I loved it.

I dipped my toes into the world of Jane Austen to read Persuasion. I didn’t know it was possible to hate characters that much, le alone toss them into the Game of Thrones books. Which I also read and surprisingly liked.

Lastly, I read the first two books of The Selection series. Holy crap they’re amazing books. just go read them for yourself.

*********

Now onto the fun. Right now my voice is practically gone. I can barely talk. and it sucks. Yes, I am a verified introvert/hermit. But get me into the right room of people, like the ones I’ll be having my classes with, and I’ll talk. Be more than happy to. Oh, and I love a good argument or 5. For the next few days, I won’t be able to do that. Sucks for me, but I’ll get over it.

**********

Lastly, my laptop went kaput on me. It’s one that served me well and gotten me through many a paper, along with binge watching Netflix and whatever else I’ve needed. Yet I put it to sleep officially (even though it’s still plugged into the living room wall. I just won’t be using it anymore =/)

I hated shopping for a new one. Gah to laptops being expensive and what not. I couldn’t find anything I liked because they weren’t my old one. I liked my old one. I know where the food stains are, and which keys stick. I know the surface and even though it’s kind of beaten up due to me dragging it everywhere, it was mine. It got me through.

Until it didn’t. So I said goodbye. reluctantly.

But as one of my favorite characters said on a TV show “You can’t love a car, but you sure can might attached to one” – I’d like to believe that goes for any inanimate object, my laptop included.

All this being said, how was your summer? Did you read anything good? Do you hate losing your voice about as much as I hate losing mine? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

