Uncategorized

My Year of Disturbing Books

Goodreads has been kind enough to log all the books I’ve read this year. Even better is how I see this year has been so different from past years in reading. Of course I dabbled in some Young Adult literature that was just fantastic. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to tell you how amazing the Selection series was. It’s one of the rare ones where the story got better as the books went along. You just have to push through a seriously annoying love triangle that will more than likely anger you to some point.

But I’ve also read “other stuff.” classics, some of them. Other books were just knocked off my “to read” list because I wanted to (that seems to be the best reason for wanted to read a book, yes?).

The first of the disturbing came from my summer class. it was a film class in which we read books then compared them to the movies. So Heart of Darkness went with Apocalypse Now. Even at this point in time just thinking about it gives me shivers. Then came Lolita. I can’t tell you how much I shivered and gagged and nearly threw up from reading that. But I finished it. As much as I hated being in Humbert’s mind, you can’t distill the brilliance that comes from such a book. Toss in a short Daphne De Murier story and… my proff enjoyed this disturbing process a bit too much. I didn’t.

For my own choosing I had the first Game of Thrones book, which I surprisingly enjoyed. It really wasn’t that bad. A bit much on the killings but life will go on. Book 2, however, is a whole other story. Just some things…

Even now I’m almost finished with the other Boleyn Girl and I just can’t even. I could honestly care less that it’s a freaking long book. Sure the sex themes are not on my normal pinwheel of good book motif, but that’s not my issue either. it’s how the characters treat each other. Use each other. I’ll probably give a little shout of glee if/when Anne dies. If that makes me a horrible person so be it.

It probably doesn’t help that I have Gone Girl and The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo as the next up on my to read list, right? Because that’s how I plan to end the year. With more disturbing books. I may be complaining about them somewhat but I’m not giving up on them yet either.

2 thoughts on “My Year of Disturbing Books

  1. Nice post, Charity. I am reading ‘Lolita’ now and it is definitely disturbing. I read ‘Heart of Darkness’ sometime back and I didn’t like it much. In my opinion I don’t think it is Conrad’s best work, though for some reason it is critically acclaimed and highly recommended by everyone and is part of our school / college reading list. I haven’t read it yet, but I think I might like Conrad’s ‘Lord Jim’ better. Hope you enjoy ‘Gone Girl’ and ‘The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo’.

    1. Gone Girl ended up being absolutely wonderful!!!!!!! I’m a fan of books that keep me up until 3:30 in the morning reading because I lose track of pages and time. This book definitely did that. Review is on Goodreads if you’re interested. Blog post probably to come after I see the movie but it’s not out on DVD yet.

Leave a Reply

