Uncategorized

Hallmark Movies

I used to think that hallmark movies were the most adorable things. Really. Because it’s two people falling in love. It spoke to the romamtic in me. Heck, even my dad enjoys them. And these days I’m having the same reactions to them that I have to romamce novels in general.

I’ll say this: not all the movies are bad or even terrible. There are a number of them that I’m quite fond of, actually.  But I’ll get to them.

My problem mostly comes with the christmas movies. Falling in love at christmas does sound terribly romantic. All the spirit and cheer. The snow. Come to think of it, I really have no idea why christmas roamances are so popular, but that’s not my problem so I’ll stay away from it.

It was Christmas in July for the past few weeks. That meant christmas movies. I’m more inclined to be less annoyed by them in the in the middle of summer than when they’re meant to be on. Instead I found myself ready to be scream when I watched them.

There was this one movie. I can’t remember the title. Here’s what I know from watching the movie: a guy made a freaking bet with his friends that he could get a girl to agree to marry him by Christmas in four weeks. I know that he did this because his friends were married and ribbing him. The girl they chose had recently sworn off dating. Okay. How to lose a guy in 10 days with a twist. I like that movie, so I’ll buy into it.

Until I didn’t find it cute at all. The guy was so hung up on winning the bet that he didn’t understand no. He kept pressing. He invaded her space. All to get her to like him, which would lead to marriage. Of course, she didn’t know this and things went crazy when she did. 

In the end it didn’t matter that he gave up the bet for her because I found it so unnealthy. I don’t believe in love at first sight and I don’t believe you should marry someone after four weeks. The movie ends with them of course getting married. And all I could think was “they haven’t known each other long enough. I don’t see this going well.”

Not helped by the main female’s sister and that awful advice. She said to take a chance. Take a risk. Okay. To propose marriage. Um… not okay. Not when she barley knows the guy and he’s been haranging her unwantedly for weeks.

Imagine 11 right about now saying “I don’t like it.” And that’s me since most of the movies are like that.

But for what’s been done well:

There’s a movie called Class. Just that. If you watch the movie the title totally makes sense. It’s about a guy from an upper class priviledged family who’s about to finish law school and a single mom who can’t hold a job.

First off, this movie spans more than a weekend as a lot of them seem to do. It spans 5-6 months. At least. The relationship between the two characters is antagonistic and snappy (which is my preference). They get to know each other under stressful circumstances, sure. But it’s done in a way that as the characters get to know each other the relationship grows into something healthyish.

Both characters have major issues. But they take care of them. It’s not done with a snap of the fingers. It takes time. They force each other to change for the better.

I may not be completely sold on the ending but that’s my problem. Otherwise this movie isn’t bad.

One example of each. A movie that I found toxic and one that I find adorable. Any thoughts? Let me know!

2 thoughts on “Hallmark Movies

  1. I find a lot of Hallmark movies to be absolutely toxic. It’s all about sentiment and not about choices, for the most part: but a real, loving relationship is about choices. It’s about who you choose to be for someone else’s benefit, and who they choose to be for yours. “Class” sounds interesting! I may have to look into that one.

    1. Keeping up with the randalls is really good too! The couple is already together but they have to survive a week at his parents place.

Leave a Reply

