Uncategorized

The sound of music, etc

I watched this movie for the first time in years last week. What’s wrong with me, right?  And tonight I watch it again because I freaking love this movie.

I was worried, though. What would English major brain do to this movie?? Would I hate what I used to love? And surprisingly, I didn’t come out of it as badly as I thought.

I am almost sold on the romance between maria and the captain. I mean I find it completely adorable and I’ll ship them together forever and make practically inhuman sqeeling noises when I watch. You might even find me reaching towards the tv, waving my hands, willing them together – even though I know exactly how it plays out. Adult me acting like a five year old: check. I don’t remember doing that a few years back… while watching this movie at least.

And do you realize how incredibly funny this movie is? I never did. Not until I watched it last time. I mean, I’ve always loved this movie. But now it’s gotten even better. The captain’s sardonic humor? The captain and maria’s banter? The captain and uncle max? The children with each other and the adults? I’ll take it all, over and over again.

Yet that’s not totally what caught my attention.

Do you realize when this movie takes place? Do you realize the implications of this movie? I didn’t either. Not until I realized how much it mirrors society today. And that petrifies me.

I know that I bury my head in the sand and would rather pretend that the world isn’t where it is. Yet with a movie such as this it’s hard to miss the correlations.

In simplest terms: Hitler was taking over most of Europe. Coming for Austria. Left the taste of fear in those who weren’t hopping on the bandwagon.

Switch a few terms and it sounds like a familiar story, doesn’t it?

Maybe I’m just imagining things, but I really doubt it.

I’ve always adored this movie. These days even more so. At the same time, I’m finding it incredibly important. There are movies that, for me, will always be be labelled relevant. And this movie jumped onto this list.

Leave a Reply

