Uncategorized

Unecessary Cop Cliches

Ah, it’s been too long. Okay, not that long. But time again for it to happen.

Back in the day I used to love my Cop tv shows. Sometimes I still do. Except they make it almost too easy to guess how anything is going to go down. Doesn’t matter how much I love me some Caskett (because I really really do) or bones with booth, the easy mysteries take away from everything else.

But right now easy mystery solving isn’t my problem. There is one thing that these shows tend to do and it bugs me endlessly, especially if it is the pilot episode. Want to know? Probably not, but tis what I plan on blogging about. Corrupt cops. Oh, I know they exist. Today’s world tells me that. Heck, humanity tells me that. So, when I go to watch a show, I want the good guys winning. Not the good guys taking down other  good guys, even they aren’t technically good. I’m rambling now, aren’t I? On I go.

The prime example I’m thinking of is Crossing Jordan. Fantastic show. Super witty. And I recall that in the pilot episode had a corrupt cop as the killer. How Jordan caught the guy still makes me smile because ingenious and yet it still disturbs me.

However, the show that started this off is this lovely show Death is Paradise. From the minute the show opened I knew which cop was in on it – but the premise made me forget until the end. Smart, but ultimately sad. Plus, the show is totally unpredictable in the style of Monk without the phobias and a possible hint of The Mentalist. Add in British humor and well… I’m becoming a fan.

Coming in at even worse is the way that the cops who were caught weren’t even remorseful about their said actions. It angers me. They should have been, but nope. They gloated because they lined pockets while helping criminals. They refused to be held accountable for their actions and that’s not how it should be. I mean, they ended up being held accountable but they truly believed they were in the right. As most villains are, it is. *sigh*

The one instance that I can think of in which the cops were truly sad about how things played out was in the Castle. You know, that running thing about how the captain had been a corrupt cop years ago? Know how it played out? He, along with his cohorts, paid dearly for their crimes. Paid with life. (If you’ve never watched the show, don’t let it deter you, it’s fantastic and this adds a special twist to it).

Here’s my thing. Humanity sucks. Humans can be particularly evil. When I turn on my TV I don’t want to see more sucky humanity. I want to see humanity at it’s best. Ah, life goes on.

Thoughts on corrupt cops in cop tv shows? Are they necessary or not? Let me know in the comments.

Leave a Reply

