Uncategorized

P.S. I Like You — Kasie West

Taken from my Goodreads review and slightly edited 

4.5 stars rounded up. Okay, if I’m being completely picky, I only knocked down the half star because of stilted writing at times. But if I’m being honest, I was a goner. Hook. Line. Sinker.

Because this is what I’d like to think of as absolute perfection. Adored it, I did. Because it was one of the cutest things I’ve read in awhile. And I just can’t get over it, and if I’m going to tell the truth here, I don’t want to get over it.

Because… this book is… adorable. First of all, the premise. I can see why people are comparing it to You’ve got mail. Seriously.

insert “I wanted it to be you. I wanted it to be you so badly.” gif that I have no clue how to actually insert. Okay, here on the blog I can at least make a freaking link so there’s some clue as to what I’m referring to. 

So, there’s Lily. Hilarious Lily. Unlike a lot of characters, she’s a weird one. In the best of ways. She knows it, she owns it. And she doesn’t disown her beauty. She just knows she’s weird and that it’s going to take a special person to want her. Also, she has an even stranger family, which she also owns about 3/4 of the time. She fits right in, and rolls with it.

Do you know how hard it is to find a character such as this? Mild complainer, knows who she is and just kind of rocks it? And is good that way? Such a fan.

Then there’s Cade. I wasn’t sure how I’d like him. He came off as such a Jerk. A rude one. But if we’re being honest here, that was Lily’s perception. And she was wrong, and as her perception of him changed, so did mine. Thankfully.

Because Thanksgiving. And the kitchen with the bracelet And the classroom. And the bedroom (It sounds bad, but it’s the cutest thing ever). And the sidewalk/commons. And the patio. It all comes together, in perfect fashion.

From the first page, to the final reveal, and everything after, I adored this book. Banter and all. Bonus points for the Sasha character, she was a piece of work.

Also bonus points for the best friend relationship between Isabel and Lily. Because that’s what best friends should look like, unlike other friendships I’ve seen come across the page.

Read it if you need a laugh-out-loud, tickle-you-pink, cutesy ya romance that’s actually kind of perfect. Heck, this book may just take top spot as favorite book this year. Didn’t see that one coming.

Leave a Reply

