Uncategorized

2017 Book TBR

This year was great, as my last post indicated. I read some great books. I only read one in particular that made me want to cringe, which is better than 2015’s top five (or was it 6?) most horrible can only give it one star books. But mostly they landed down the middle with three and four stars. Or in the cast of two of them, no stars at all, seeing how I was conflicted about my feelings.

Here’s to hoping 2017 lands somewhere close to this year. Does it have to? No, of course not. I wouldn’t expect two years to be even remotely the same. But I can dream, right? Yeah, that’s what I thought.

Here’s to the books and series I either plan to start or continue on within the new year. Also here’s to hoping that I don’t start to muddle all the fantasy that I plan on reading. Some people can blow through a series all in one shot. I am not one of those people, no matter how much I try. Like I said, here’s to hoping.

*Thanks favorite booktubers, co-workers, along with awesome friends and family for the wonderful recommendations! And for sending me books halfway across the country.*

Starting the list:

First Lord’s Fury By Jim Butcher. Number six and the finale to the Codex Alera series. This book might not be the first one I read this year, but I certainly plan on finishing this series. Because so good, guys. I want to see how it ends. Okay, I caved, looked up spoilers, and read the ending of this book. While I don’t know how everything plays out exactly, I’m looking forward to it.

A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab because um… I want to see how it ends? This world is amazing and brutal and all sorts of magical. Obviously. I want to visit my dear old friends. *Keep them safe. Please keep them safe.* * Realizes that’s not going to happen* *February come soon, okay? *

Gemina by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. If I’m being honest, Illumine didn’t exactly tickle my reading fancy. Angsty, teen, sci-fi (at least in this combination) wasn’t something that I wanted to read. But fabulous co-worker, followed shortly by another, talked me into it. I’m a sucker when it comes to book recs… if a person can make it sound just right, apparently. I knew I might have issues with it, and I did. So I’m hesitantly following up with book two. But the formatting it different and gorgeous, so I can at least admire that, am I right?

Mistborn by Brandon Sanderson. Yeah, I’ve never read a book by him. But the book community seems to love it. Seems interesting enough. I’ll give it a shot and see where it ends. Yeah, otherwise I basically know nothing but I’m looking forward to finding out. *Heading to look up spoilers because I’m me*

At least reading book two (Changeless) in the Parasol Protectorate series by Gail Carriger. Steampunk for the win. I need some more sexy werewolves and a great love story in my life. I know everyone is all about that alpha werewolf, but following tradition, that type doesn’t appeal to me. Everyone needs a Lyall. I want a Lyall. Where can I find one? It helps that the humor in these books is on point, over the top, and just basically fantastic.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. All I know is that it include a fleeing princess, her betrothed, and an assassin. Oh, and apparently you don’t know who’s who. It sounds nice and fabulous, doesn’t it?

Eye of the World, book one in the Wheel of Time series by Robert Jordan. Yeah. Yeah. Definitely late to this party. Again, I know nothing. Just that I should probably read it. The part of me that hates going in blind will probably seek spoilers at some point, as I do.

I will finish Clash of Kings. I will. I promise I will. If I ever get the guts to actually remember to read it. Long books shouldn’t be daunting, and they generally aren’t. Until they are. If that makes sense. But seeing the other books that lining this list, this book shouldn’t be that hard, right? Besides, I like this world. I think I’ve become accustomed to the brutality contained within. Carrying on shouldn’t be as hard as I’m making it.

The Black Prism by Brent Weeks. Because it sounds like something I’d enjoy. Interesting magic system. Some romance/ angst. *Happily adds another long fantasy to already ridiculous list.*

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas. This series is alllll the hype. And book one was great. The prequels destroyed my feels. And I tried starting this, then failed. I didn’t dig it. But I’ll see where I end up. *checks about pushing book farther back into the year to avoid it.* *Reconsiders* *Shrugs and I’ll get to it when I get to it*

Scarlet, book two in the Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer. Again, late to the party. Book one was better than okay, but not exactly topping my favorites list. But good enough to keep me interested. Plus, humor. I love me some humor. Kai turned into a sass master, and Levana is scary as all get out.

The Well of Lost Plots, book three in the Thursday Next series, by Jasper Fforde. If you haven’t read these books yet, I insist you pick them up. As my one friend says, this author’s brain is made of cookies. The world is brilliant. An alternate Great Britain where literature is paramount, this world is incredibly fun, and dangerous. Plus, it’ll bring out the feels you might not have known you had. Because of the Landon thing. *Going to go sob* Plus, he has a character named Spike Stoker running around hunting down supernatural creatures, if that’ll help pique your interest.

I’m ambitious, aren’t I? Maybe not enough? Well, it’s about to get more so because at some point I plan on hopping off the fantasy sci-fi train and hopping on something else.

The Girl Who Played with Fire by Stieg Larsson. I’ll admit, I’m going into this hesitantly. By that, I mean… I want to read it. Because intrigue. And scary. And great characters. But book one creeped me out more than enough to keep me away. Brilliant yet disturbing, and I’m not sure I want to go back. But I also want to catch up…

Anything by Gillian Flynn. Gone Girl was… whatever it was. Mind screwy and brilliant. And why haven’t I picked up another book by her? Dark Places and Sharp Objects are both sitting on my shelves, waiting to be read.

The Casual Vacancy by none other than J.K. Rowling. Because I am apparently insane and wish to torture myself. That’s why. Okay, maybe it won’t be torture but an interesting study on humanity, as it goes. Or so I’ve heard.

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Gailbraith, AKA Rowling’s pseudonym. Because Mystery. And Rowling. Need I write more?

I did mention I might be possibly going insane? Yeah, I think I did. This list is what I’d call ambitious. And I’m guessing that I might actually only read half of them. 365 days. Who knows how many books, what’ll actually strike my fancy.

Doesn’t it sound like a great list? A horrible list? A just perfect list? Let me know in the comments!

 

2 thoughts on “2017 Book TBR

  1. Wonderful post, Charity! Thanks for sharing! So nice to know that you will be starting the final part of Jim Butcher’s Codex Alera series. One of my book club friends keeps recommending Brandon Sanderson. Hope you like Mistborn! Mary E. Pearson The Kiss of Deception sounds so wonderful from your description! I want to read Robert Jordan’s Eye of the World at some point. So nice to see Jasper Fforde on your list! I haven’t read Steig Larsson’s trilogy, but keep thinking that one day I should get to it. I have seen the TV adaptation of The Casual Vacancy and liked it. Hope you like the book. I keep telling myself that I should read The Cuckoo’s Calling one of these days! Wonderful list, Charity! Hope you have a great reading year in 2017! I will look forward to following your reading adventures!

    1. Awwww!!!! Im glad to know the books sound good. I wasn’t sure if I did a half decent job describing them or not. Mostly because I don’t know much about them except that I should pick them up.

Leave a Reply

