Uncategorized

January 2017 Wrap Up

Yeahhhh. This year started off with a reading bang. In the best of ways. So far I’ve read nine books. Nine freaking books. Generally it would probably take until mid-March to reach this goal. Yet here I am. I’m proud of myself.

Here they are:

Princep’s Fury by Jim Butcher. Book five to the Codex Alera series. Was it my favorite in the series? No. Was it good? I guess. After everything that built up to book four, this kind of bored me. Then again, I took a break from this so I wouldn’t tire of the books/writing, but at the same that break caused problems getting back into it. If that makes any sense at all. Star rating: 3/5

The Bone Collector, The Coffin Dancer, and The Empty Chair by Jeffrey Deaver. Books one, two, and three in the Lincoln Rhyme series. Let me say, I am a fan. These books have basically  everything I could want. Mystery/Thriller. Action. Humor. Plus, Lincoln and Amelia together, both professionally and Personally, are just the best. All three books: 5/5.

The Final Empire, book one in the Mistborn series by Brandon Sanderson. I was looking forward to this book. And then… the disappointment set in. The worldbuilding is genius. Seriously. I adore Vin and Elend together, even if most of their relationship seemed to happen off page. But it just dragged. Even though the pages were flying, it felt like I wasn’t making any progress. Star rating: 3.5/5

Gemina by Amy Kaufman and Jay Kristoff. Because of Illuminae, I had misgivings. I must forgive them. This book was better. Much better.Hanna may have been bratty, but her personality was somehow better than Kady’s. Her thought process was more interesting than Kady’s “hate the world sarcasm” deal thing. Oh, and the way Nik just kind of hit on her. The two of them together… yesss. Aaaaallll the shipping. But really, the book was saved by Ella. She’s one of my new favorites. I never thought I’d see the day that I’d clamor for the next book to this series. Here I am. Where is it? (Yes, I know. Comes out this fall). Star Rating: 4/5.

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson. This book. It sounded so good, so promising. It started out okay, and then fell flat. The story was… whatever it was. Intriguing, but I understood why people spend time complaining about it. Then, love triangle happened. Except it’s not even really a love triangle. Lia basically uses the one guy she’s not interested in to make the other one jealous, which ends up having serious repercussions. And that just did not work for me. Not one bit. I may have enjoyed being kept in the dark about who was the assassin and who was the prince, but even that turned out underwhelming. Star Rating: 2/5.

Falling Kingdoms by Morgan Rhodes. The surprise of the month. I wasn’t sure I was going to like this. Until I did. Multiple Point of Views are becoming a thing of mine. My favorite somehow belonging to Magnus. His dark sarcasm is absolutely charming. Whatever that says about me. Or as Magnus would probably think, “Irrelevant.” But really. This book kind of reminded me of The Winner’s Curse. It seems all nice and fluffy with thoughts of romance abounding. At the same time, there’s political intrigue that leads to plenty of plot twists. Plus, revenge. These characters are out for blood. It doesn’t always come the way they want. Also, the death count keeps mounting. Rhodes is not afraid to kill off anyone. I am becoming a fan. Star Rating: 4/5

Lastly…

The Archived by Victoria Schwab. I started this book last fall, but it kind of became the safety book that I kept tucked away in my purse just in case I forgot the book I’m currently reading. So, it took awhile. And I’m sad that I did. Then the other day it hit this point and I couldn’t stop reading. Didn’t want to. Thank you plot twists and turns. This book is inventive. And funny. And dark. Maybe not as dark as Vicious or even The Shades of Magic Series (both of which are Schwab’s adult series), but definitely dark. Then There’s Mac and Wes. They’re great, especially together. I can’t wait to see where they go. This book also has a great deal of emotional trauma to it. Mac lost her younger brother and had to deal with her grief throughout to the book. And I thought it was done well. There’s a certain kind of indescribable feeling that just kind of wrenches your gut out when it comes to describing grief, and this book had it in spades. Star Rating: 4.5/5.

*It’s also holding me off until A Conjuring of Light makes an appearance towards the end of February*

Books taken off of my 2017 must read list: 3. Which seems reasonable to me considering what got put on it.

It was a good month. Or at least I thought so. Thoughts? Concerns? Suggestions? Leave them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

