Uncategorized

To Read or Not to Read… a Classic?

The other day I was having a conversation with a coworker, and she asked if I ever read classics because I feel like it. My answer was yes, but I don’t generally read a lot of them. Heck, last year I don’t think I read any at all.

There’s a part of me that wants to be an elite bookist who can claim with authority and pride that heck yes I’ve read that book. Even better if I can claim I like it. If you claim to like all classics because they’re classics, then you’re insane. I just want to be able to claim that I’ve read it. That’s good enough.

There’s a part of me that wants achieve Lucas Scott status. I know, going the One Tree Hill route and not Gilmore Girls. Yeah, I prefer Lucas to Rory any day of the week in terms of personality, and reading habits. Not to mention how they both turn out as people.

There’s a part of me that wants to do it kind of like a goal. I want to give myself something to reach for as I go through life. This seems to be the best reason to do things, yes? I think so.

So I’ve decided to tack onto my already ridiculous list for things to read this year to make room for some classics.

The Count of Monte Cristo by Alexandre Dumas. Because revenge. Who doesn’t love a good revenge story? I’ll be honest, I may have ended up enjoying The Three Musketeers, but after the time I had just getting into it, I’m afraid. No, I’m terrified that this’ll be a repeat. So, buckle up I go.

Anna Kerenina by Leo Tolstoy. Drama drama drama. Long, drawn out, drama. That’s what I have been promised. And I want it. With one of the most infamous lines in book history heading this book, I am ready. Here’s to hoping.

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess. I’m not sure this is classic material, per say. But since I need more disturbing books in my life, here goes.

Emma by Jane Austen. I didn’t technically finish a book by her last year, and that saddens me. Not really, because Northanger Abbey was just not for me, but whatever. This one I’m looking forward to tickling my Jane Austen fancy.

I don’t think I’m ambitious enough to add more at this point. I can’t wait to see where I end up. Thoughts? Concerns? Other books I should look into? Leave them in the comments!

Leave a Reply

