Uncategorized

2017 TBR, part… 3?

Okay. Okay. Things are getting out of control on my end. In a good way. The books are coming from everywhere way. I keep wanting to tack on to my list for things that I want to read in 2017. I started with the original list, which is slowly getting whittled down. Then I decided that I needed more classics in my life. And now, I have the books cluttering my “currently reading” list on goodreads. Mostly, books that I should have finished during my final semester of college and didn’t. They’re not horrible books. I just didn’t get to finishing them and now feel the pressing urge to do so.

One of the books was recently finished, per this recent urge to be more productive. It’ll be included when I do my new monthly wrap up.

Two of the others were added to my original list. They are Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas and A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin. Yeah. Definitely a reason to be finishing these.

Which leaves five books, four of which were meant to be read for school. Here goes:

The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole. It’s meant to be the original gothic story. Nice and scary. Part commentary on the social norms of the times. It starts with a strange death and goes from there, as the father of the father of the character who died essentially goes crazy from not having an heir. This book stands at four chapters and a mere 115 pages. It doesn’t seem that long, until it is. While there are paragraph breaks, the rules for dialogue had not yet been set, making it hard to tell who’s speaking. Kind of hard to keep certain things straight. Though at the moment I’m being entertained by the awfulness of the characters. So, there’s that at least. I look forward to finishing it soon.

Roxana by Daniel Defoe. All about a lady who traded her virtue for money. At the time, her doing this sort of thing was kind of a big deal. More than. Let’s call it scandalous and leave it there. While the main character is kind of crazy, switching between wanting to live and the horror of what she’s become, it is an interesting story.

Evelina by Franny Burney. It’s essentially a love story with satire on the times thrown in. The titular character doesn’t really know how to handle the situations that she’s thrown into, but she strives to make her way in the world She even thrives to a point. Bonus adoration for creepy stalker guy that tries to corner her at every turn when she doesn’t return his attentions.

Moby Dick by Herman Melville. I think most people know the basics to this, so I’ll leave it be. But there are two things that always come to mind when I think of this book. The first is Rory in the first couple of episodes of Gilmore Girls, when she’s telling Dean about reading it, and how she finds it cliched to be reading it as her first Melville. The second is that scene in Matilda, where her father tears the book apart in anger because she refuses to adhere to family values. This book has its moments, I’ll give it that. Then there’s the part where Melville is Mr. Pretentious and I hate having to have a dictionary in some form nearby as I read. On I go.

Then there’s the last book on this list, which wasn’t for school.

1984 by George Orwell. Big brother is watching. A novel predicting the future, I find that this book hits a little closer to home than I’d like. Is it brilliant? Well, yeah. But considering today’s social climate, I find it hard to want to read it, let alone find enjoyment in it. Though perhaps considering the climate, I shouldn’t want to find it enjoyable. It does its job, as far as dystopians go, which perhaps makes it even scarier.

My goodreads reading goal for the year: 40 books. Set one above what I finished last year. Number of books on the original list: 17. Books on the Classics: 4. That makes a total of 21. Plus these seven, making a grand total of 28. Even though I steamrolled through January, I’m glad I kept the total number of books somewhat low. It allows for me to be able to take the time to hopefully do this, and read those classics.

I’m looking forward to decluttering my “currently reading” list just so I can clutter it again. With that many books on there right now, I don’t like to add the books that I’m actually reading for fear that it’ll end in the same position of not actually finishing them. Even if it’s easier to keep track with where I’m at in books with that pretty update status button.

Thoughts? Concerns? Sound like a good plan or am I totally off my rocker? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

