Uncategorized

February Wrap Up 2017

So, this month was not nearly as productive as last month. As expected, life is catching up. The enthusiasm for the books is dying down a bit. Setting in for the year has happened. But it was still a decently good month, all things considered.

Here they are:

Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen. Not my favorite by her. Not by a long shot. In the end, Catherine got on my nerves and I just couldn’t take it. It’s funny, really. I look at my notes on goodreads from when I first started this book and I was having an absolute blast with it. Then again, it took almost two years because I started it for school and ended up not finishing it until now. Rating: 1.5/5 stars.

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff. Whoa. Whoa. Whoaaaa. This is nothing like the Illuminae files, which I knew going in. But what this book contained surprised me, a lot like The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo surprised me. That is, by the way, in an indicator of what this book contains graphic wise. Except for it’s not completely apt, either. Go in with a strong stomach or be wary. (I should have listened to the reviews. They don’t generally lie.).Rating: 4/5 stars.

For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diana Peterfreund. A sci-fi retelling of Persuasion? It had me at the words Persuasion and retelling, but I think the sci-fi aspect added a kick to it. The world building was strange, but I’m not generally after that. I was here for the awkward angsty romance and this book delivered. The author updated this book to fit the new world but definitely kept the original spirit alive. I am a huge fan. Rating: 5/5 stars (or all the stars in the universe, as it is).

Written in Red by Anne Bishop. This book has a short description. Yet its detailed enough to make one interested. Let me be clear: this book moved kind of slowly, amping its way up a notch every little while by different characters’ choices. One character made a move and the other characters react to that choice. If that makes any sense at all. Bonus interesting for Asia Crane being one of the most terrifying if not stupidest villains ever created. Okay, her motives make her terrifying but her choices make her stupid. It’ll make sense if you read it, because some people will do anything for fame. Rating: 4/5 stars.

Like I said, it wasn’t a bad month. Not at all. If not a bit deviating from what I was planning on reading.

Books off of my 2017 reading list: none. Because I’m not on top of my game.

Books off of my classic list: none. That might take awhile….

Books off of “currently reading” list on goodreads: 1.

Yeah, this year isn’t not going like I planned in the reading department. I suppose it’s only going to deviate further. I did say I would probably only get to like half of the books anyways, and I’m taking it.

Leave a Reply

