Uncategorized

March Wrap Up, 2017

This month was beautiful for the books. I don’t think I found disappointment from any of them. Well… never mind. I didn’t. Not really. And there was seven of them. I’m proud of myself.

*The books will not be in the order that I read them, due to the fact that I read different books that were a part of different series. Also, sorry for any spoilers.*

  1. Paper Princess by Erin Watt. Just… imagine a gender swapped version of the O.C. on crack. That’s all it is. And it’s glorious. So, with a welcome to the O.C., I heartedly gave this book 4.5/5 stars.
  2. Broken Prince by Erin Watt. The awesomeness continued but went down, just a bit. My favorite is Easton, though. He may not be the main man, but he’s just so broken (hehe!) that I love him. Book rating: 4/5 stars.
  3. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer. I’m a fan of how the author retells the fairy tales, but also how they are becoming intertwined. I wasn’t exactly a fan at the beginning of switching between the two storylines, but watching them converge was beautiful. Star rating: 4/5
  4. Rebel Spring by Morgan Rhodes. Ehhh. Not quite as good as the first one. Things I should know by now: don’t put down a book down for several weeks and expect to come back to it fully on board. But it was decently wonderful, minus the ever swinging pendulum of emotions. That is, characters need to make up their mind who they want to be with. It drove me nuts. Star rating: 3.5/5
  5. Gathering Darkness by Morgan Rhodes. Things picked up. Not that they weren’t interesting before, but now… so much better. And the swinging pendulum of emotions is slowly coming to a still. Also, Team Magnus and Cleo forever. Their slow burn hate-to-love relationship is top notch. Star Rating: 4/5
  6. A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab. Probably the book I was most looking forward to this year. And you know what? It delivered. On so many levels. Action packed. Kell and Lila’s romance. Kell and Alucard’s bromance/frenemies relationship. Probably the most perfect, heartbreaking, bittersweet finale that I’ve ever encountered. Easily my favorite book of the series. I’m still fangirling, so who’s with me? Star rating: 5/5
  7. Legend by Marie Lu. I’ve heard things about her books. Many things about how entrancing and magical her writing it. How her characters are great. While I liked the plot, I didn’t get the other things. Nor did I find myself attached to the characters. However, I can appreciate a dystopian doing what it is meant to do, so… Star rating: 3/5

Books taken off of my “to read” list for the year: 2, for a total of 5. I’m just going to clap myself on the back for that one, guys.

Books taken off my “classics list: 0.

Books taken off of my “currently reading” list: 0.

So far this year I’ve read 20 books, according to goodreads. Halfway to my goal and it’s only March. I never saw that one coming. I also have some hunkers on the lists, so I’ll see where I end up. Here’s to hoping.

What did you think of the books on the list? Do they sound good? Interesting? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

