Uncategorized

My Rules for Reading

This will probably be a short post. I don’t know how long I can go on about my cardinal rules for reading. I’m probably even going to sound repetitious. Here goes. *Crosses fingers.*

  1. Read what you want to read. It doesn’t matter. Whatever floats your boat. Whatever you’re in the mood for. Feel free to switch genres like you switch out clothes. If you read the same type of thing all the time, it’s going to get boring at some point. And don’t you dare to ever let someone make you feel bad about your choice in reading. Sometimes the classics beckon and sometimes you just got to fall for those delightful cliched romances. Right now I’m torn between working on the classics list I for some odd reason decided to make for the year (Yeah, I know. Discussion with co worker.) and books that I put on the things I should read this year list
  2. You are not obligated to read whatever is popular at the moment. If it doesn’t sound appealing to you, then don’t pick it up. Don’t even bother. Run in the other direction. There are a few things I originally never would have picked up because they didn’t sound good, but my favorite booktubers made them sound appealing. That’s what they make videos for. And I cannot emphasize how many times those books did not work out well for me. As one of my favorite bookish things says, read whatever you can get your hands on and you’ll find what you need. Sometimes that means avoiding what everyone else has deemed important of their reading time. Personally, I have no plans to go near the A Court of Thorns and Roses series because ultra sexy Beauty and the Beast retellings just do not sound appealing to me, no matter how um… interesting everyone seems to be claiming Rhysand is.
  3. You are not obligated to like something just because it is popular. There’s a reason many a popular book is well… popular. It contains something that appeals to the masses. If you read it, and it doesn’t work for you for some reason, it does not work for you. I hate how people have to give disclaimers basically apologizing for their own opinions of disliking a book just so others don’t completely freak out and feel victimized. I try to do the same thing. It just goes back to if you dislike something to the point of hating it, that’s okay. Stick to your opinions. Debate if you must – politely, of course. But that’s the best part of disagreements, I think: to encourage discussion. That’s a post for another time, so I’ll just step off the podium and scurry somewhere. (At this point this year I’ve only really disliked The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson and Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas So  I think I’m doing pretty good).
  4. If you own a book, underline. Freaking write in the margins; yelling at the characters, swooning over the ones you find attractive. It helps me remember things. Then, if I ever decide that the book is good for a reread, I see where I once was, as opposed to where I am in life now. Tab the favorite sections so you can find them easily, because it can be infuriating trying to keep all of those favorite book pages fresh in your memory.  This also leads to five.
  5. Loan the books out, if you will. I get that some books are too precious to hand over to some people, or that certain people should not be trusted with books. That’s okay and perfectly understandable. But I just love loaning books out and getting them back with my friends’ notes in them. I love being able to leave marginalia in books for my own friends when they let me. It brings forth discussion, which I find important, especially if two or more people have differentiating opinions. My personal favorite is my one friend who loaned me the Mortal Instruments books since the first one was a horrible enough experience to no longer spend money on the series. (My experiences thus far:  book one was “meh.”  Book two was absolutely fabulous and I wondered where all the problems I had went. Book three reminded me of them and I almost threw it across the room). She loves to hate them since they are ridiculous. She legit spent pages and I mean pages yelling at Jace in red pen. One of the best book experiences of my life, probably. It also means I have one of the greatest friends ever.

Those are my rules. They might seem weird. They might even make me sound as if I am some high and mighty bookist, which I probably am to some degree. But they are my rules, and they generally make the reading experience all the better.

What about you? What did you think of my rules? What would tack on or edit out of it? Am I crazy yet? Leave it in the comments!

 

Leave a Reply

