Uncategorized

May Wrap Up, 2017

What a month. What a month. I managed to read five books. Okay, more like 4 3/4 since the onc was less than 100 pages from being finished. According to the numbers, it was a decently good month. Looking at the experiences… well. That is an entirely different story. (Hint: read the post previous to this one and you’ll find a much more entailed list as to what my grievances are).

Here goes. *Please no one hate me or threaten harm for bashing what seemed like good books, because they apparently seem excellent to everyone but me.*

*The Diabolic by S.J. Kinkaid. The premise sounded like interesting reading. A… thing (diabolic, obviously) but not quite considered human has to learn how to be a human, in order to protect the human she was made for and essentially take her place. If that makes any sense at all. It’s not nearly as confusing as it seems. It sounded intriguing, but fell flat for me. I didn’t feel as though Nemesis struggled for her humanity, but rather just accepted her new emotions as normal. However, Tyrus is a genius in his own way. I even kind of enjoyed the romance, and Tyrus trying to talk Nemesis into that she was indeed lovable. Star Rating: 2.5/5

*Graceling by Kristin Cashore. Um, my previous blog post probably says almost everything you need to know about this book. I hated everything about it. Even the graces that were originally presented not being the real graces upsets me. The fact that the originals were so cool (killing and fighting for goodness sakes) but were traded out for lesser graces that were more socially acceptable just seems like the easy way out.  I better not get started on that thing called a romance. I’m out, and don’t plan on coming back. Star Rating 1/5 stars.

* Punk 57 by Penelope Douglas. I think I hated this more than Graceling. I do not kid. At least Graceling had things that could redeem it (didn’t happen, but hey,  I had hopes). Hate sex? Really, it’s a thing? The most inappropriate places to get it on? The age of the characters? I know that this appeals to the masses, but it wasn’t for me in any capacity. Star rating: 1/5 stars.

Yeahhh. I one starred two books in a row. I’ve been quoting The Sandlot with “The I can only blame myself” line. Because seriously. I chose the books.They sounded god, had decent ratings. And I came to regret it. Thankfully, the books picked up.

* The Black Prism by Brent Weeks. I started this last summer, but set it aside for reasons that I no longer remember. But I was promised political intrigue. I was promised magic. It delivered. I even made some of the best margin notes of my life, comparing Guile to Thor (which to me isn’t a compliment) and Nathan Fillion’s character in Dr. Horrible. Not good. Then plot twists happened. I ship him with Karris, so hard. Kip is hilarious. Oh, everyone is. I haven’t laughed this hard in awhile while reading. I will definitely be continuing when possible. Star rating: 4/5. P.S. Give this book time. It might start off slow but it picks up.

* Vision in Silver by Anne Bishop, and book 3 to the Others series. Still good, but definitely my least favorite of the series so far. Things are reasonably getting amped between the others and humans, by book standards, that is. One of the charms of these books is how Bishop created the others to be dominant and humans are basically food. yet the humans still somehow come to the conclusion that they can actually take over. So, war is coming. Most of Simon and Meg’s relationship hilarity was dropped, understandably, yet it’s saddening all at once. Still compulsively readable. I pick these up and next thing I know it’s 3 A.M., I’m finished, and no longer know what to do with my life. Star rating: 4/5.

It started off as a bad month, got a tad worse, and gradually recovered. But seeing how great my year started off, it was bound to happen eventually. Now that I’ve spent time grumping about said things, I feel better now and hope to never mention it again.

Books off of my “to read” list: 1, for a total of 7. *I’ll just be over here dancing that I’m actually conquering this last I made.*

Books off of my “classics” list: 0. Yeahhhh.

Books off of my “currently reading” list: 0. *Sigh. I’m not giving up on it just yet.*

Another random tidbit: I upped my goodreads reading goal from 40 to 52. I’m still way ahead, strangely.

Does it sound like a good month? An interesting one? Any differentiating opinions floating around out there? Let me know in the comments!

Leave a Reply

