Uncategorized

Favorite Quotes, Part III

Oh, it’s been awhile. I know. I forgot. Kind of didn’t care. Life has been busy. Any of the platitudes/ excuses will do here. But mostly I forgot that I had favorite quotes going because of the quote book, Even then, I forgot about the quote book for awhile there.

Yeah,  I had better get started before I don’t even get into the quotes at all.

“At some point, you have to decide not merely what you’re going to believe, but how you’re going to believe. Are you going to believe in people , or in ideas, or in Orholam? With your heart, or with your head? Will you believe what’s in front of you, or in what you think you know? There are some things you think you know that are lies. I can’t tell you what those are, and I’m sorry for that.”  — Brent Weeks, The Black Prism 

  • I remember reading this quote and just kind of getting sucker punched. Maybe there’s a part of me transferring being an adult still getting treated like a child by certain people, but this quote just made me take a breath. Corvan is clearly trying to be a good parent, wanting to tell the truth while not being able to. He chooses to take his high road, potentially lose his daughter to the dark side, and keep a secret. And something about his admitting that his daughter is growing up and can make her own decisions kind of makes me with that more parents were like that.

“Maybe there isn’t such a thing as fate. Maybe it’s just the opportunities we’re given, and what we do with them. I’m beginning to think that maybe great, epic romances don’t just happen. We have to make them ourselves.” Marissa Meyer, Cress 

  • Nail head, meet hammer. As a person who doesn’t exactly believe in love at first sight, this quote is everything.  As a person who believes in ordinary romances happening everyday by two people choosing to make make it work, this quote is basically everything. Love isn’t some instantaneous emotion that will probably fade over time. Love is well, a choice. But I went over this a while ago, so moving on. I’m just glad that this quote exists to put things in context.

“No Mourners. No Funerals.” — Leigh Bardugo, Six of Crows/ Crooked Kingdom 

  • My mom hates this quote. She calls it depressing. I mean, in a way it is. I get that. But looking at it through the character’s’ eyes, or in even in context of the novel, the quote is perfect. It gives them motivation for being who they are, a reason to go do reckless things. It’s their version of YOLO. Then there’s the quote towards the end of the second book that makes it all sadder. *I’ll just go sob somewhere now.” (I’ve also obtained the much needed T-shirt with the quote so I can freak people out in public. Score!)

It seems that, for me, lately the quotes I’ve been gravitating towards are not only ones that make me think, but make me reevaluate my relationships. I want to grow. I want to be able to look at other outlooks of life without losing all faith in humanity. Truth be told, it’s hard. But I’m working on it.

What did you think of the new favorite quotes? What are some quotes that I should take a look at? Leave it in the comments.

Leave a Reply

