Uncategorized

July Wrap Up, 2017

It has been a month, people. What I did: read six books. Spent three weeks house sitting, one of those weeks without internet. (The people lost their internet password so I “roughed” it). Basically worked like a maniac. Life has been crazy busy, but in a good way. Change is coming and I am ready.

You probably don’t want to hear about the extravagant details, so onto the books I go! It was… a strange month. You’ll probably see why in a few books.

Clockwork Angel by Cassandra Clare. I don’t dig her books. Her characters and the situations she puts them in are just not my thing. But everyone raves about Jem this, and Jem that. I can dig some steampunk. But oh dear goodness Will. I wish that boy had never opened his dang mouth. His attitude is aggravating to no end, even more so than Jace (which I bet no one saw coming). But the plot twists. *Sigh.* They can never make up for everything. Star rating: 3/5

Storm Front, book one in the Dresden Files by Jim Butcher. I knew going into this that it wouldn’t be my beloved Codex Alera books. But it was such a jarringly different experience. First person (which I don’t generally gravitate to), and his dry sense of speaking. His matter of factness. Even the brilliant glimpses of what the world will one day become doesn’t promise me much. Star rating: 2/5

If We Were Villains by M.L. Rio. Probably my favorite book this month. A bunch of college aged theater students studying at a prestigious place where they only do Shakespeare. They have become so ingrained in what they do that they have become deluded that they must play the same roles offstage as on. When the parts suddenly get switched up, things happen. Someone ends up murdered. This is my kind of book, honestly. Even the inappropriate humor (it comes at the worst times, but it’s not generally sexual, though there is sexual humor, if that makes any sense). So much goes on. You can almost see the end coming but what a ride that was worth it. If you don’t mind the endless quoting of Shakespeare (since all the characters do is eat, live, and breathe the bard), this is such a good one. Star rating: 4/5.

Daughter of Smoke and Bone by Laini Taylor. It started out alright. Good friendship. Interesting world that you’re just kind of thrown into. I’ll buy into it. Then the romance. Oh, dear no. Insta loooovvvveee. *Shiver*. Amazing plot twists. Things get interesting and… still leaves the insta looooovvveee. Quite honestly it basically ruined everything. I can see why everyone adores her books, but it really wasn’t for me. Star rating: 3/5

The Iron Trial, book one in the Magisterium series by Holly Black and Cassandra Clare. (That is not a typo. I read two CC books this month and I don’t know how it happened. I am not impressed with myself). It was entertaining to a point. I mean, I liked it. After being thrown into the world and not quite liking it, I settled in. But that ending I don’t think I’ll ever get over. One of the plot twists is genius. The other is confusing and not what I would consider age appropriate. Even I’m not sure how it all worked out , which makes me wonder if young children will be able to. Whatever at this point. I was entertained so I might keep going. Star rating: 3/5

Lastly….

An Ember in the Ashes by Sabaa Tahir. I originally wouldn’t have read it. But suddenly it sounded appealing. I’m glad I took the plunge. This is… I have no clue. I thoroughly enjoyed the ride. I mean, there’s a double love triangle going on (each of the MCs has another that they “click” with and it basically drove me insane). But I’m good with the two MCs falling for each other. Angst city coming up, in a good way. I hope. Then there’s the brutal world in which they live and I can’t wait to explore more of it in book two. Star rating: 4/5

Books off of my TBR list for the year: 0. I’m not giving up… but I’m a mood reader and the books that sounded good in January no longer appeal to me.

Books off my Classics list: 0. Though I can admit that I packed them for house sitting. Then the fact that I decided to go for all of the long ones freaked me out. Here’s to hoping.

Books off of my Currently reading list: 0. Though I read like 50 pages in A Clash of Kings. I got Theon’s POV and honestly it can be painful. He’s run by hormones and I can’t deal. It’s disturbing.

It wasn’t a bad month. But it was a busy one. I think I’m proud of myself.

What did you think of the books and opinions? Leave it in the comments.

One thought on “July Wrap Up, 2017

Leave a Reply

