Uncategorized

June Wrap Up, 2017

Weeeellll. It wasn’t a horrible reading month. I mean, I’ve had worse. But summer has arrived. And with summer generally comes this desire to do anything but read. Kind of. Not helped that I’ve been house sitting. And something about house sitting means I don’t generally want to read.

Oh, and I’ve discovered the TV show JAG. From the 90s/early 2000s it may be, but I have become addicted. It’s basically perfect. Also, the main character’s pattern of speech and sense of humor reminds me of MacGyver. I’m getting off track, so I’ll continue this newfound love at a later date.

Onto the books!

The Assassin’s Apprentice by Robin Hobb. I was incredibly let down by this book. Things had been promised. Things were not delivered. I wanted a poor kid learning to be an assassin. It’s in the title, right? Um, this book gives basically everything but that. Even his first kills were just glossed over as if they weren’t important. The last 45 pages helped because plot twists, but they didn’t make up for the having to get there part. Star Rating: 2.5/5 stars.

Big Little Lies by Liane Moriarty. One of my library co-workers talked me into it. It’s not what I would normally prefer to read. But this book surprised me. After getting thrown for a loop because it’s set in Australia (Yeah, don’t know why that happened), I settled in for a delightful read. Some twists. Some turns. Murder. Good humor. Get the picture? Star rating: 4/5

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon. This is basically promised to be one of the books of the year. So, let me remember that I don’t generally do contemporaries or romance. Let me remember that my general reaction to them is not pleasant. Considering these two  things, this book actually turned out pretty sweet. Looking back, I think that it moved a bit of a too rapid pace. I mean… Dimple starts out annoyed. Then she automatically warms up to him and things progress from there. So, ehhh. I mean, by far not the worst I’ve read. But not nearly my favorite either. Star Rating: 3/5

See? Kind of a bad month. Not just in the fact that I didn’t read much. The books weren’t exactly kind to me, either. Though I fully understand that I chose to read them. *sigh*

Here’s to hoping next month brings better books!

Books off of my TBR for the year: 0.

Books off of my classics list: 0

Books off of my currently reading list: 0. Though I did read all of 5 pages in A Clash of Kings. I will finish that book. I’ve said it before, I’ll say it again, long books don’t daunt me. I don’t know why this one does.

How does my month sound? Good? Average? Worse than could be? (Though let’s face it, I’ve had way worse months where I’ve one starred everything). Leave it in the comments!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.